Our Habits Shape Our Future

There have been many “I will’s” in my lifetime…many “on the first I will”….many “on Monday I will”….or “the 1st of the year I will”. I am not saying we shouldn’t say “I will”, but I am proposing that our “I will’s” WILL turn into action consistently. New Year’s resolutions are a good thing. I do them myself. I have changed over the years and realized my resolutions did not have to start on the 1st of January. They can start when you decide they will start. Like tomorrow is a great day to start fresh.

Our habits do shape our future. In fact, the second half of a persons life is made up of nothing more than the habits acquired in the first half of life. The habit of daily growth is critical in a world that is changing so rapidly. We need wisdom from our creator and from people who have gone before us that have our same values and have fruit on the tree. Like “they” say, judge something by the fruit it bears and not the fruit it talks about. Who is “they” anyways? Ok, that is for another blog. Sorry, I get sidetracked.

If our habits shape our future and because I know God holds the future then wouldn’t it make sense to start there. God’s word is the map to my future. The Bible is not only the infallible word of God, but it is a road map to the purposes He has planted in me and in you. We were created for purpose and everyday is a stepping stone to the future He has established for us. I am studying Exodus and the journey of Moses right now and I love the correlation I have learned between the manna God provided for His people and the habits of daily Bible reading. Let me explain.

The Bible is a supernatural book. It has power to give life and change lives. It reveals the attributes of God. The Bible is God-breathed and even though it has the stamp of human authorship, it is God’s book. So, with knowing that, it makes reading the Bible everyday that much more important. Manna was a supernatural gift. It was not natural or man-made. Every morning it appeared on the ground. It was abundant and sufficient to feed 2 million people.

God freely gave the manna. The people did nothing to earn it. The manna did not fall from heaven and drop in their mouths. The people had to gather it. The same is true for the wisdom provided through reading the Word of God. It has been freely given to us. We did nothing to earn it. God does not download our brain with His information every morning. We must take our human effort and study the Bible for ourselves.

The manna fell at night and was there in the morning for the Israelites. It had to be gathered and collected. What they received one day would not be enough for the next day. The same is true with our daily dose of scripture. I know we won’t die if we miss a day or two of eating just like we won’t die if we miss several days of studying God’s word. But I do know that the healthy way to eat is through regular daily meals. The right way to benefit from the Bible is regular study every day.

So, God gave manna daily, but it would have done them no good if they wouldn’t have eaten it. They would have starved. We do not grow spiritually simply by knowing facts. We must apply the Word of God when we read it. The action of eating the manna kept the Israelites alive and well. The action we take of applying what we read on a daily basis will also keep us alive and well. Alive and well for me means literally feeling alive, refreshed, new, confident, humble, and filled up!

God continued to provide manna to His people until they reached Canaan. The manna is a symbol of the Lord Jesus Christ. He will provide for us until the journey’s end. The Word of God is our daily source to help instruct, correct, and comfort.

My biggest “i will” for 2015 is to be consistent in the daily habit of reading my Bible. Remember, our habits shape our future. Since the second half of my life will be determined by the habits I acquired in the first half of my life, then I must continue to plant the seeds of daily Bible doses so the next half of my life will continue to reveal the light of Jesus more and more!

Bless you and Bless your days of 2015!!

Nicole Porter

Leave a Reply

