To Have Your Eyes

December is a very special time when families come together to share memories and discuss the events of the year. I am reminded that we tend to move like tiny busy ants through the year and then do our best to slow the month of December down so we can reflect realizing that another year of our life is quickly coming to a close. It is a wonderful time to be reminded that a savior entered the world during this season about two thousand years ago. It is our time as believers to remember His birth and begin to set new goals to align our lives to be more like Him. So…….

I thought it would be appropriate to share a song that touches my heart and helps me to be more like Christ. One area that I am always having to grow in is the area of seeing the good in people. We have learned so much through the lives of Orrin and Laurie Woodward and Chris and Terri Brady. Their example has been so powerful for Kirk and I to see the biblical truths not just talked about, but acted out in ones life. We are blessed to be connected to them in the LIFE business and the community of TEAM. They have shown us people have value, we have value, and we can help bring the greatness out in people. They have shown us to see opportunities and not disappointments.

The perfect example to us is Jesus Christ. He came and lived a sinless life. He loves us no matter what. We have the stains of sin, but yet He sees no stain on us. He sees our future of who He created us to be and not our past. My prayer is that I would have the eyes of the Lord. That I would see people how God sees them and not how my worldly eyes see them. That I would see the future full of hope, prosperity, and a land of opportunity. What if we could raise up a group of people that saw the greatness in each person and every situation. Not for who they were but what they could be. That group of people would be living a LIFE worth living!

The world today is full of negative inputs which makes it difficult for people to think in the positive. It is just like the story “The Wolves Within”.

An old Cherokee is teaching his grandson about life. “A fight is going on inside me,” he said to the boy.

“It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves. One is evil – he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.” He continued, “The other is good – he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The same fight is going on inside you – and inside every other person, too.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather, “Which wolf will win?”

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

May we begin this season to learn from our Heavenly Father and see through His eyes. May we feed the good in ourselves and feed the good in others. Enjoy the words of this song written by a friend of ours, Kristi Northrup. It moves my heart each time I hear it and I am reminded how much further I must grow to be more like Christ.

Merry Christmas and May God bless you,

Kirk and Nicole Porter

6 thoughts on “To Have Your Eyes

  1. Chris Brady says:

    To see others as God sees them…such a worthy aspiration to work towards! Great post! Merry Christmas!

  2. Shannon Gray says:

    Love the cherokee story!

  3. Jeremy Arena says:

    That was an awesome story and song 🙂 Another song that reminds me of what you were talking about is “Give Me Your Eyes” by Brandon Heat, that’s also great song. Thank you for sharing, it’s a good reminder that what we put in our brains will determine our outcome, and it’s comforting to know that with God’s help, we can control that outcome!
    Merry Christmas!

  4. Kirk & Nicole,

    What a refreshing view, to see things as GOD see’s them positive and hopeful.

    My prayer is that others will read your blog and decide to see positive in their lives.

  5. Jason Jasper says:

    amazing post – kicking myself that I am only now seeing it

  6. James B. says:

    Love the post. I’m a UPS driver by day and a LIFE/TEAM member by night. I have a reeally hard time in December slowing down to totaly get myself into the spirt. I will remember this post in the upcoming months. Thank you and Lead on.

Leave a Reply

